Union County vs. Meckenburg County

This is my first time posting so please be patient with me! :)

My husband just took a job in Indian Trail, NC so my family will be moving to NC this summer. We know nothing of the area or the schools. Does anyone have recommendations as to a nice family area that has parks, pools, good schools, ect? I have heard Matthews is nice but homes are expensive and that Union County (Indian Trail area) has affordable homes but property taxes are high. Any truth to that? We are from Colorado Springs which will give you an idea of what we are used to.

Thanks in advance!

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You will get many varied responses to this I'm sure, but my vote would go to Mecklenburg. I suspect that Mecklenburg County public schools are better than Union County. Infrastructure items like parks and such are undoubtedly much more developed in Mecklenburg. Union County is really more of a low density suburb for Charlotte.

Working in Indian Trail, it might make sense to live in Union, but like Norff said, Union lacks certain ammenities. Taxes should be lower in Union, as are housing prices. Overall people will swear that Union has better schools. This may be true at the district level, but Providence High (that serves Matthews) is certainly superior to any school in Union in my opinion.

I think that both southeast Mecklenburg and western Union are relatively addordable, and comparable to Colorado Springs (Union I would suspect to be less unless you chose a gated community).

Both areas would be considered family areas, though Union typically has younger families, which is a result of lower home prices.