Moving to Miami?

DonJeffrey

Hi,

I'm a senior urban studies undergrad in Philadelphia, and the prospect of another northeast winter is making me think seriously about moving south after graduation!

I thought of Miami not just for its climate and its beaches, but also because I speak Spanish and Portuguese, and there are lots of Latinos and Brasilians there. Also, it's only 2 hours by plane from Philly and NYC.

But I really enjoy the fact that I can get around here on foot or bicycle, or by train to almost anywhere I'd like to go (even more so in NYC!). From what I can tell, public transit in Miami is not too developed yet, and I might need a car if I want to get anywhere around there.

So to those of you who know South Florida -- how car-oriented are the nicer "urban" areas of Miami, like Coral Gables and the Upper East Side? I've heard before that you can get around on the metro/bus, but how limiting are they? Would it be something like living in the Main Line suburbs of Philly, or Westchester in NY, where almost everyone owns a car in spite of decent public transit?

Also, more theoretically, do you think any of the urban spontaneity and diversity driven by sidewalk culture is lost in a highway town like Miami? I would imagine that if everyone is stuck in a metal box when they go out, you wouldn't see as many people walking around as you would in other big cities. But maybe I'm all wrong! Am I missing something?

Any responses would be greatly appreciated! I look forward to hearing what everyone thinks.

Abrazos,

Jeffrey

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply