Op-Ed for Charlotte Observer

Guys, 

In the next week or two I'm going to be working on an Op-Ed for the Charlotte Observer about the cities inability to create a great urban experience, history of poor planning, lack of attention to good design and the overall ignorance to establishing a decent Pedestrian Experience. I was looking for people to contribute ideas for me to write about. I'm planning on writing about 500 words, and talk about the experiences I've had living in Brooklyn and traveling around the country to cities that are smaller and the same size as charlotte. Please share whatever you can. 

Thanks

RDF21

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I know you'll do the crowd here good by your letter. It's a fantastic idea!  I'm far from an expert and I'm humbled by what you guys discuss on this board so please excuse if I'm out of line (feel free to delete post Mr. Moderator).  While spending almost two full days while on vacation last week wandering the streets of Portland, and keeping Charlotte in the back of my mind, I had a couple of thoughts: 1)  Increase food trucking 2) have safe an visible bathrooms. There's a public bathroom beside one of their parks in Pearl District that allows you to see feet inside. In otherwords, you don't have to worry too much about being mugged by walking into a closed space. (not that it's necessarily a problem here).  So many street level retailers...  And, of course, side-walk dinning and beer drinking.

FWIW, I did find plenty of dead space in downtown Portland as well. It's not all wonderland.

So, anyway, I'm still buzzing about Portland. I've been there plenty of times and love it. I just wish their light rail/trolley took you out to the Hawthorne Section....as our trolley will eventually to PM.

Great idea!