Visiting Portland and Seattle!

Garris

Hi everyone,

I'm going to be visiting Portland early next month for a wedding from Providence, RI (kind of Portland's sister city in feel on the East Coast). I'm going to be there on a Saturday, Sunday, and Monday before striking out to explore the Oregon coast, and eventually Seattle, where I'll depart from. I'd like the following recommendations:

1) A nice place to stay that won't break the bank. I'd like to not need to rent a car the first few days, so something with easily rail access or right downtown would be nice.

2) Recommendations of great places to photograph the city (I'm an amateur photographer). Especially skyline views, downtown views, "urban life" type views, etc...

3) Great, unique restaurants. I particularly like ethnic dining, but Portland-unique places would be nice

4) Any particular events (especially cultural, like classical music concerts, art events, etc) going on from Sept 3-6 in Portland (or Sept 7 or 8th in Seattle) would be nice... Sites recommended to check these things would be nice...

Also, recommendations for the same for Seattle would be great...

1) Hotels

2) Places to photograph

3) Restaurants

4) Events

Thanks!

- Garris

Providence, RI

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I asked almost this exact same question a while back and got no responses.

I'll be in Seattle around Labor Day staying Downtown at a cheap, but supposedly very reasonable hotel ($65/night) for three nights, then one night in Bellingham at a B&B.

For events, there is Bumbershoot Festival that weekend. I'm going on the Monday to see Ted Leo, but there are other very good bands during the four-day festival. Click on that link for the full line-up.